Facebook is widely utilized by millions and millions of people from all around the world. While the site can be tons of fun and very beneficial for keeping in contact with your friends and family members, there may come a time when you decide to step away from Facebook. When this happens, you will want to remove your profile from the social media network.
How does one delete Facebook account and remove all of their content? You’ll find out below.
Before learning how to delete Facebook account, you’ll want to familiarize yourself with the consequences. When you agree to delete your account, you will remove everything. This includes your account, posts, and pictures. Before completely deleting your account, you may want to download a copy of your stored information. Once the account is deleted, it cannot be reactivated and none of your information can be retrieved.
Before deleting your account, you will first need to log in. Start by visiting the Facebook website and logging into your account. If you’re logged in as someone else, you’ll need to sign out and sign back into your account before moving forward.
Once you’re absolutely positive that you’re logged into your primary account, you will want to start the account deletion process. Head to Facebook’s help section and you will find a link to the delete account page. There, you will be provided with a cautionary message explaining the repercussions of deleting your account. And, you will be presented with two options. You can click “Delete My Account” or “Cancel”.
If you don't find it, just click here: https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account
If you’re ready to delete your account, you will want to go ahead and click the appropriate button. Upon clicking this button, your profile will become inaccessible to all other Facebook users.
Take note that deleting your Facebook account is not an instant solution. Once you’ve confirmed you wish to delete your account, your profile will immediately become invisible to all other Facebook users. From there, you will need to wait up to 90 days, before all of your information is completely deleted from Facebook’s user database.
During this duration, the social network will remove your photos, profile information, status updates, and other data. This information will be removed from Facebook’s primary database, as well as their backup system. Some of your information may still remain. This includes data that isn’t directly stored in your account. Generally, the messages you’ve send to friends will remain behind. Nonetheless, everything else will disappear permanently.